Sauteed Chayote & Carrots (Ginisang Sayote & Carrots)

inCollage_20180307_122457614.jpg

This past few days, we’ve been eating too much pork that it wants me to munch on more greens!

Since I was the all around woman in the house, I need to choose the healthy and easy dish for everybody specially to my little one.

And ching! My little girl favorite, Ginisang Sayote and Carrots . She loves the crisp and sweetness of this two veggies.

braised-sayote-and-carrots

There are variations in cooking this dish; some uses shrimps, beef or even chicken. What’s important is that, everyone enjoys eating this authentic vegetable Filipino dish in whatever ingredients it comes with.

Ginisang sayote pairs well with white rice and fried fish or grilled meat. This quick stir-fry requires the most basic of ingredients and the addition of oyster sauce does wonder to its overall flavor.

Chayote or Sayote (in the Philippines) is an edible plant belonging to the gourd family Cucurbitaceae, along with melons, cucumbers and squash.

Globally it is known by other names including christophine cho-cho, pipinola (Hawaii), pear squash, vegetable pear, or choko (Australia and New Zealand).  Its tuberous and edible root is called chinchayote or chayotextle in Mexico and ichintal or güisquil in El Salvador, Guatemala and Venezuela.

Carrots?  Well everybody knows carrots.

ice_2018-03-07-10-47-32-562

So here’s what you need…

Ingredients:

  • 2 pieces of chayote, julienned
  • 1 piece carrot, juliened
  • ¼ kilo ground pork (I used sliced tenderloin)
  • 1 piece large onion (sliced)
  • 3 cloves garlic (chopped)
  • 1 piece tomato (chopped) (optional)
  • 2 tablespoon cooking oil
  • 1 teaspoon finely ground pepper corn (optional)
  • Oyster sauce or Patis (fish sauce) for seasoning
  • 1~2 cups water

Cooking Procedure:

  1. In a deep pan, sauté garlic, onion and tomato.
  2. Add the ground pork and stir fry for about 3 minutes.
  3. Add 1 cup of water and bring to boil.
  4. Season with oyster sauce or patis according to taste.
  5. Add chayote, mix and have it covered. Cook to at least 2 minute or until vegetable are half done.

Serve while still hot and vegetable are crispy.

That’s Eat 😊 Share and enjoy!

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Amber says:

    Yum, this looks like an incredible meal. I’ll have to try it one day. I don’t think I’ve ever had chayote before, so I’m intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joan Cajic says:

    Never heard of chayote before but I know I would be very interested to eat it because it looks really good and tasty plus with the veggies involved, that’s my kind of healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i love filipino food! now u make me miss it! maybe i should start making this lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chimpundu says:

    I’ve never tried sayote but this looks delicious. Will definitely be trying it soon

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never had chayote before. This dish looks really good, and I’d love to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Would love to hear how it goes when you try it. 😊

      Like

  6. jporebasoc says:

    Hm that looks really yummy! You got me hungry 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mmmm I love dishes like this! Hunks of meat and veggies are my favorite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t eat meat, but I love how simple this recipe is. Plus, it is a great way to get vegetables in with your lunch or dinner. Also, I love the fact that it’s a plate from the Philippines — I love Filipino food.

    Thanks for sharing! x

    Michelle
    dressingwithstyle-s.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Madeline says:

    This looks so good! And interesting. Don’t think I have ever had chayote.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. vidyatiru says:

    not a meat eater, but love both carrots and chayote; and there are so many similarities between foods across nations that it really amazes me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sounds delicious. I’m so glad you explained what chayote is. 😉 I love learning how to cook new dishes and this looks easy enough to try. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mirlene says:

    I have never sautéed chayote. Definitely will give it a try. Recipe and pictures look great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 😊 Would love to hear how it goes when you try it.

      Like

  13. I never had chayote, I have to try this. I like that it has a lot of veggies as well. It’s a bit hard for me to think of full of vegetable meals. I have to eat more veggies.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pujarini Mitra says:

    This looks amazing. I have never tried this but will surely do

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I have never had this before, but I am always up for trying new things! It looks really good!

    Like

  16. Angela Hoyos says:

    OMG sounds and looks amazing! Soooo making this 🙂 ❤

    Like

  17. Sarah Bailey says:

    Oh now this sounds absolutely delicious, I’m trying to try different ideas so I will have to add this to my list.

    Like

  18. Lisal says:

    We love stir frys, I have never heard of chayote though. Is it readily available anywhere or would I need to go to an asian specialty shop?

    Like

  19. This looks really good. I do love a good easy sitr fry.

    Like

  20. This is a fairly new dish for me, but does looks great. Although I do love stir fry vegetables a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Cris F. says:

    This looks really delicious. I’d love to try chayote if I can find it in Florida. I love trying new veggies!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I’ve never enjoyed this recipe before but I imagine that it is full of some delicious flavors. I love the fresh veggies in it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. This actually looks like a healthy dish my two-year-old would go nuts for!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Angela Ricardo Bethea says:

    Wow!! This recipe is a must try. I really miss eating ginisang sayote at carrot. I will definitely cook this later for our dinner. Yummy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. yummy. I will try out it. looks healthy & tasty also.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. The Motivated Mom says:

    This looks so good. I love steamed rice….and the veggies and chicken on top. YUMMY!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Waren Jean says:

    This is one of my favorite Philippine food. I am proud to say atleast this one I know better. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. This would make some very tasty dishes! I love trying new foods from other cultures.

    Like

  29. TColeman says:

    This dish looks absolutely amazing! We love things that come together like this that have tons of flavor. I am definitely going to be giving this a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. I have never of a dish like this. I like to try new things, this looks tasty! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  31. Sounds and looks really good. I should really try to be more adventurous with my cooking one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment